Love ain’t always an open door!

*Downs coffee like a shot & throws hands in the air* FINALLY!

After talking with four people from DFCS and CASA, we have an answer!

Husband and I have been registered to start on our path of fostering and fostering to adopt. We know from friends and family who are foster parents that this will not be an easy task.

Not only will the process of obtaining our certificate to foster be arduous, but the children we will love on may give us a run for our money as well. They’ll come from broken homes, carrying broken spirits, grief and anger in their hearts. I just pray that God would give us the much-needed strength to push through our IMPACT classes, home inspections and open our hearts to our future children’s needs.

Another item hubby and I have wrestled (me & Jesus are still fighting…) with is when to foster and adopt. He is getting his masters and intends on continuing education with the high possibility of us moving out of the state to do so. We don’t want to be unfair for the children we’ll foster by only being here for a little while. But then again, should we stick around longer to do this?

Really, truly, the only thing keeping us in this area currently is our church — my job.

I love my job, and I love my students more than anything. But maybe… maybe I don’t want this job as much as I want children. After all, we’ve tried for 5 years. We’ve waited for 5 years! Does God want me to give up one dream for another? What if we pick the wrong dream?

Decisions, decisions, decisions.

This is one of those times that we’d love to be transparent with our church & family. We are relatively young and this is my first paid position in a church ever, even though I’ve been volunteering for this same kind of job for at least 10 years.

God of wonders and Knower of the unknown, show us the best way to navigate our lives and big decisions. Shut doors that are a “not now” and open another door that we can walk through. Each of us on this earth has tough choices to make–grant us the wisdom to make the best one. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a comment